OPTIMISM is my muse

I think it’s a smart idea for writers to always be refreshing their list of professional goals, but I also find that it’s important to refresh my list of things I’m looking forward to.

By “things” I mean book releases, movie releases, concerts, trips, basically anything that awakens my inner fangirl. Because that inner fangirl? The eternal optimist of love and joy and all things happy? She is my muse. So I spoil her.

Here, in chronological order, are some things that I am looking forward to:

1. June 6, 2014: The Fault In Our Stars THE MOVIE.

Say what you will about book to movie adaptations. But I think that lately they’ve been getting it RIGHT.  Besides amazing John Green source material, they have actress Shailene Woodly. She smashed it in Spectacular Now (based on the sublime book by Tim Tharp. Really smashed it. (Killed me). TFIOS is first and foremost about a girl and a boy and love . . . who both have a history with cancer. Don’t worry. I’ll hold your hand.

2. August 14th, 2014: The release of Isla and The Happlily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

This is a must for your list, for my list, for any reader’s list. Stephanie Perkins is the reigning queen of YA Romance. Don’t question this. I will fight you! If you somehow have missed Stephanie Perkins and the greatness of Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and The Boy Next Door . . .  I’m actually a little jealous, because while I foresee re-reads just prior to the release of Isla, it will never be the same as reading them for the first time. My brain on Stephanie Perkins: Why is she in my head? Does she know me? Why does she kill me like this? Why do I love this book, but also want to set myself on fire?

“And, suddenly, I want to touch him. Not a push, or a shove, or even a friendly hug. I wan tot feel the creases of his skin, connect his freckles with invisible lines, brush my fingers across the inside of his wrist.”

—Stephanie Perkins ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS

“And if I am the stars, Cricket Bell is entire galaxies,”

—Stephanie Perkins LOLA AND THE BOY NEXT DOOR

 

3. August 30, 2014: One Direction, in concert

This is all your fault really. In the process of writing my blog post ( https://bookyardwriters.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/everything-you-need-to-know-to-be-a-successful-writer-you-can-learn-from-one-direction/ )  I fell down the rabbit whole and was swallowed whole by this fandom. I really enjoy their youthful pop sound, but also just can’t get over how they are still, after three years, are still just these silly, lovely boys, living their dreams out with their best friends. I can’t get enough of this fandom or these boys.

 

What are YOU looking forward to? What feeds your inner fangirl/optimist?

One thought on “OPTIMISM is my muse”

  1. Okay, the first two I was totally with you! Not so much the third. 😉
    I think the trailer for TFIOS looks great! I love how the look like normal teens and not gorgeous twenty-year-olds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

