Join The 30 Day Challenge #write30

We all have so many commitments. Life is busy, and we let all these things get in the way. Especially when you’re a writer.

For me, this month and next are really insane. My roommate and I have to find a new apartment, I’m in the middle of a job search and all these BEA preparations/Really Big Things.  In the midst of this, my roommate and I realized we need to get some life things on track. So, today my we are starting two 30 Day Challenges.

1) The 30 Day Ab Challenge (It’s an app!)

2) C25K (Another app that helps you get up from the couch and build endurance to run a 5k.)

We’re doing it together because things work better when we have accountability and community. A support system.  Every day we can make sure the other person did what she had to do in order to reach a goal. I love that.

The same is true in writing. I let life get in the way of me writing. “I’m too tired today.” “I have more time.” “But look at these other 400 things I could do…” “But Game of Thrones is on.” It’s sort of ridiculous how much I let get in the way of writing.

So I’m adding a new challenge — and I’m inviting all of you to join in!

The 30 Day Writing Challenge.

This is by no means an original idea, but right now it’s exactly what I need to do. And I’m sure I’m not alone!

My writing life is nearly as busy as my personal one, and I could use the accountability and community to stay on task.  I’ve just turned in the first pass of Salt 2, and now book 2 in the Boundless trilogy is due in a month! It’s the PERFECT time for me to embrace this challenge, especially because it will end right before BEA. And, since I have these other little goals, I think it’s very doable to give up one hour a day for writing. I’m going on into the challenge with 37k words. You can start something new, something old, or revise.

How to join in:

  • Use the hashtag! #write30
  • Write for an hour a day (if you’re so inclined, you could do 1k instead of hourly, but I like the time chunks.)
  • Tweet at the end of each day (#day1, #day2, etc) how many words you wrote or chapters/pages you edited. (I’d love to keep a running tally)
  • Encourage other writers and reach out while you work toward the goal

That’s it! I’m trying to keep it all simple by doing it on twitter, but you can also keep track however you want.

Are you in??

Leave a comment with your twitter name, and I’ll make sure to follow you and your progress. (I’m on twitter @DanielleEWrites.) It starts today! Pass it on and jump in.

#Write30, #day1 — let’s do it.

10 thoughts on “Join The 30 Day Challenge #write30”

Leave a Reply

